I Can’t Believe It

Heyyyyy there friends Open-mouthed smile

Happy Hump Day!

I felt like this week has taken a really long time. I woke up this morning saying “is it seriously only Wednesday?” I just need to get back into the swing of things and officially out of summer mode!

Wednesday is also one day closer to Thursday. Thursday’s are actually “Friday’s” for me because I have no classes on Friday. SCORE!

 On another note, I have something to share that I’m completely baffled by…

I am STILL sore. Yup. I can’t believe it. It’s not even like I’m kind of sore, I am actually just as sore as yesterday if not even more to the point where I still walk funny.

I don’t remember the last time I was this sore for two days in a row, crazy!

I have been foam rolling like there is no tomorrow AND I iced today.

I’m hoping I’m good to go tomorrow because I’m seriously dying to do a normal workout.

This morning I actually set my alarm for extra early so that I could hit the gym for some upper body weights. When I woke up, I was super tired. I decided to listen to my body and get an extra hour of sleep. It was wonderful.

Also, the other day I woke up with a scratchy, sore throat.

This has made me feel tired and not as good as usual the past couple of days, and this morning it was still lingering.

So today I decided to take a rest day.

I contemplated on taking a yoga class or just doing upper body weights tonight, but I figured that this is my body’s way of telling me to chill out.

I am usually doing workouts involving great effort about 6 days a week, and sometimes I just need a break.

As I was thinking of my post for today and how I may need to take a break, I came across Fitnessista’s Blog Post.

If you haven’t seen it yet, it was a focus on rest days!

I took it as a sign. I like to be active, a lot and even though I know how great and beneficial rest days are, I’d rather only take one a week. No more.

If you check out her post, the part that jumped out at me the most was the part on how do you know if you need an extra rest day.

I fit ALL the categories.

EXTREMELY sore? Check.

Exhausted? Check!

Sick? Check.

So there we have it, a rest day was well needed. I need to learn how to listen to my body more effectively because I’ll admit, I can be pretty stubborn and only do what I want to do at times.

It’s honestly SO important and doing so will just make you stronger and that means the workouts after your rest days will be even better. I’d rather have good quality workouts than too many crappy ones.

Do you plan rest days or take them when you need them?

I’m curious about everyone else!

After a MUCH needed extra hour of sleep, I finally got up and made myself a cup of coffee, of course Smile

I took Bentley on a walk and he seriously gets SO excited. It was wet outside so I had to dry him off when we got back in! Whenever I do this, he gets really wild and starts growling and running away and back thinking he’s tough.

DSC00865

DSC00863

He hates when I take pictures of him and he knows when I have the camera out too! He refuses to look at me. He’s still cute as heck. Rude.

DSC00873

This is my I don’t feel like getting all pretty but I don’t want to look like a total hobo either look.

I realized wearing dark jeans in 98 degree weather in the summer of Florida is not such a brilliant idea.

Also wearing my hair down and frying it to death does no good because in 2.3 milliseconds of stepping outside I will have an afro.

Solution: Shorts, ponytail, headband.

P.s. Do not wear a white shirt and forget your umbrella before going to school. Just don’t.

Dinner

After getting some school work, laundry, and dishes done around the house it was time for dinner! I am seriously super tired and now I know why my mom never wants to cook when she gets home from work.

However, we did anyway because I still enjoy it and don’t want to eat microwave crap like I used to live off of.

I tried something tonight I never have before, OKRA!

We’ve been picking up a new vegetable or two each week and revolving our meals around them.

To prepare the Okra, I steamed it like edamame.

First I rinsed them off and cut off the ends.

DSC00875

DSC00877

Then I simply boiled water with some lemon juice and salt and put them in once it came to a full boil.

It quickly boils (maybe 30 seconds – 1 minute mine took) and then I strained and topped it with salt and a little bit of butter.

The end. Seriously that’s all I did because I didn’t know how else to make it!

We had it with Hot Organic Chicken Sausage and rice.

DSC00879

DSC00880

So EASY!!

 

 

Do you like trying new foods?

What’s your favorite day of the week?

WIAW Round TWO!

My second WIAW post, weeeeee!

Okay it may not be that exciting but we can pretend Winking smile

Here are my eats from last Wednesday!

Breakfast

I took a body works class at my gym and also got in a 3 mile run! Once I got home I wanted some yummy fuel.

DSC00745

Two pieces Ezekiel bread. One with cherry preserves and sliced banana, the other with my homemade cinnamon raisin peanut butter. Never gets old.

I ended up being out running errands till late so I had a late lunch!

Lunch

DSC00730

DSC00727

A smoothie sounded the best for a quickie!

One of the best I’ve made.

1/2 Banana

1 to 1 1/4 C. Almond Milk

Handful of blueberries

Handful of spinach

Pinch Xanthan Gum

5 ice cubs

1/2 packet of Jay Robb Strawberry Whey Protein

protein

I had plans to go see the Help that night, so we made dinner before the movie.

DSC00744

Steak, Rice, and Asparagus.

Lastly, a little un-pictured chocolate!

Have you joined WIAW?