Pecan-Crusted Orange Roughy

I finally went grocery shopping today. I feel like I JUST went and spent a million dollars but unfortunately there wasn’t much food in the house since last week.

How does that seem to happen? One second I swear I’m never food shopping again and that this shopping will last weeks, and before I know it I am scrounging around lucky to find a crumb in the house. Tell me this happens to everyone else?!

We’ve been out of veggies for a few days and I went through withdrawals. I am one of those weirdo’s that LOVES veggies and could eat a tub and be happy.

 016

018

This is where the salad “beast” that you all refer to comes in. Romaine, spinach, tomatoes, carrots, banana peppers, veggie burger, cottage cheese, peanuts.

I tackled a bunch of my to-dos and finished making more pita chips before the pita got bad.

Anyways, onto dinner!

I wanted to share a recipe because it was super yummy. I bought Orange Roughy last week and this was the recipe on the back of the bag. This is DIRECTLY from Publix so I take no credit. Definitely worth sharing!

Ingredients

    1/4 c flour
    1/4 c. milk
    1
    Egg
    1/2 c chopped pecans
    1/2 c bread crumbs
    12 oz. Orange Roughy, thawed
    1/2 tsp. seasoned salt
    2 Tbsp. canola oil or cooking spray
    Directions

1) Place flour in shallow bowl. Combine milk and egg in second bowl. Chop pecans finely; combine with bread crumbs in third bowl.

026029027I used whole wheat flour but you can use any.

028I used dairy-free milk and it was fine, but again you can use any.

2) Preheat large sauté pan on medium. Sprinkle fish with seasoned salt. Dredge in flour, dip in egg mixture, then dredge in pecan crumbs.

030
3) Add oil to pan; swirl to coat. Cook fish 2-3 minutes on each side until golden.

031

Source of Recipe: Publix Aprons Simple Meals

I made Brussel Sprouts and a baked potato on the side.

036

So good! It gave the fish a nice little crunch and spruced it up a bit. It was nice to have a change because fish can sometimes get a little bland. I made this all myself too 🙂

I’m off to enjoy the rest of my night. Have a wonderful Friday loves!

 

How often do you go grocery shopping? (I feel like I’ve asked this before but oh well)

Do you like fish? If so what is your favorite?

Is anyone else a veggie weirdo like me? 🙂

7 responses

  1. Pingback: Baked Apples | GOtheXtraMile

  2. I love grocery shopping too!!! I love it so much I want to go as often as possible (which is sometimes a waste of time…but oh well…), and also because I don’t have a car and I can’t buy that many items all at once 😦 So maybe once or twice (if needed) a week? But yesterday I sort of splurged quite a lot; took me ages to walk back home with all the bags!! So I’m thinking I won’t have to go again for quite a while 😉

  3. I have to do groceries at least once a week! I have never been a fan of fish but I would really love to learn to like it! I don;t eat any meat so it would be good for me protein-wise! I have heard white fish isn;t really fishy so I might start with that at some point when I get the courage! I do like veggies but I’m very picky! I’m more of a fruit freak. I love fruit!

Leave a comment