Thunderstorms and Treadmills

Friday night is always a good excuse to go out. After relaxing at the pool for a bit, my mom and I came home and got ready to go to dinner. We hadn’t been food shopping yet so we decided it might be nice to go out for a change. We don’t go out to eat all that often.

We decided to go a little north of where we live and go to a downtown area with restaurants and outdoor shopping. On the way up, the clouds started to roll in and within just a few minutes it was looking a bit scary.

DSC01315

Guess who forgot the umbrella? Of course. Luckily, we got inside a restaurant before the storm kicked into full gear.

DSC01316

How’s that for some clouds! We settled on Yard House because we have both never been there before and it seemed to have anything on the menu.

We sat on an outdoor patio which was completely covered but even before we got our food it started pouring and we started to get wet! We quickly moved to a booth in a corner of the outdoor patio and that was much better. Sorry but I’m not down to get wet during dinner.

We got quite a light show! The thunder was CRAZY it was one of the worst thunder storms I’ve seen in a while.

We started off with a appetizer salads.

DSC01317

We only had the option of Caesar or Ranch because we added it onto our entrées. I chose the caesar but ordered oil and vinegar on the side as my dressing. Caesar can be a bit thick and tangy for my liking.

For my entrée, I ordered a Chicken Veggie bowl with Brown Rice.

DSC01320

It had bok choy, celery, red and green peppers, broccoli, mini corn, mushrooms, snap peas, and some other stuff and the rice is under there somewhere. A bunch of veggies is my kind of meal:)

DSC01323

The portion size was enormous so I ended up taking about half of it home.

~~~

This morning I wanted to get in my weekly yoga and saw there was a class at 11. I went a little early and completed 40 minutes on the treadmill. I ended up mixing incline walking, jogging, and sprinting all in one.

Minutes

Speed

Incline

0-5

4.0

8.0

5-9

6.5

1.0

9-13

4.0

8.0

13-17

6.5

1.0

17-22

20 sec 8.0, 20 sec 6.0

1.0

22-23

3.8

15

23-24

4.0

15

24-25

4.0

14

25-26

4.1

14

26-27

4.2

13

27-28

4.3

13

28-29

4.4

12

29-30

4.5

12

30-35

20 sec 8.0, 40 sec 6.0

2.0

35-40

4.0

7.0

I was a sweaty beast after this and I forgot my towel. What is up with me lately? Who knows but I’m sure the clean, nice smelling people in yoga didn’t really appreciate me sweating like a monster Smile

I loved the yoga class I took. Every time I leave yoga I feel so good and tell myself I NEED to do it more! That will be a new goal of mine, I’m determined.

The instructor started off with Thai Chi. It focuses on the breathing and movements and it’s just so smooth and refreshing it was such a great warm up. You can’t do Thai Chi wrong as long as you are moving and breathing.

She did core work, hip openers which was amazing because I was sore, balancing which is my favorite, glutes and hamstrings, and other yoga poses. The class closed out with meditation and although my mind was going a mile a minute I was imagining myself in Malibu, California and it was very relaxing I almost fell asleep. It was so refreshing.

After the gym we had a couple of stops to make, and since we had a very light breakfast we decided to stop somewhere for a salad before heading out. We ended up at Field of Greens which we were just at a few weeks ago.

DSC01324

Mixed greens, tomatoes, walnuts, raisins, gorgonzola cheese, chopped apples, and celery. Something about fruit, nuts, cheese, and dried fruit is amazing. Deeeelish.

We finally went food shopping, to target, and a couple of other things and now I’m relaxing inside because another thunderstorm is on it’s way.

 

What is your ideal salad?

What is the weather like wherever you live?

Has anyone done Thai Chi before?

3 responses

  1. I do love a good thunderstorm, they are always so exciting!
    Great workout too! I get so bored on the treadmill but when I do use one, I like to mix it up with walking, running, hills, sprints, etc like you did
    Never have done thai chai… I am interested though!!

  2. I do love a good thunderstorm, they are always so exciting!
    Great workout too! I get so bored on the treadmill but when I do use one, I like to mix it up with walking, running, hills, sprints, etc like you did
    Never have done thai chai… I am interested though!

Leave a Reply

