I Almost Forgot, WIAW!

Better late than never though Winking smile

Happy Wednesday everyone! It’s crazy to think tomorrow’s already Thursday. Such great news!

I hope everyone’s having a great week.

Here are my eats from last Wednesday!


Breakfast

I started my morning with a favorite of mine. Possibly one of the best discoveries I’ve had from blogging.

DSC01091

Overnight Oats in a Jar! (OOIAJ)

For those of you who are not familiar:

You take an almost empty jar of nut butter, or anything else you might want or have on hand, and make your own concoction of oatmeal and stick it in the fridge over night!

In my mix:

  • 1/3 cup raw rolled oats (I do not cook them first)
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 mini activia yogurt
  • 1 tbs. chia seeds
  • 1/2 banana
  • dash of cinnamon

Then when you leave it in the fridge over night, the oats soak up the liquid and expand.

DSC01090

It may not be the most attractive thing in the world, but definitely something worth trying. I didn’t like them the first time I tried them, but I played around with how I made it and this one works for me the best!

DSC01089

This was also my first time ever trying almond butter. I fell in love.

Oh, and can’t forget the iced coffee!

DSC01094

DSC01093

Lunch

I think those were one of those days where nothing was calling my name when it came to lunch time. I ended up with something I normally fall back on when this happens.

DSC01104

1/2 Bagel Thin with melted cheese + jelly ; 1/2 Thin with PB and Banana ; Apple

DSC01105

DSC01106

Always satisfying when I don’t know what I want!

Dinner

This dinner was deeeelish. Definitely a favorite!

DSC01078

Almond encrusted salmon with a maple-soy glaze, on top of a salad.

Super easy to make and throw it on top of a salad, so healthy too!

Salmon is one of my favorite fish but it has to be cooked right. I’m honestly scared to cook it so I usually only eat it if someone else cooks it for me Smile

Plus, salmon is the healthiest fish you can eat!

Is there a food you’re afraid to cook?

Have you ever had overnight oats cold? If so, do you like it?

16 responses

  1. Right now, I have some temphah (ooh, I feel like I mispelled that) in my fridge, but I just don’t know what to do with it! I’m a little scared with how it will taste. I’m loving your overnight oats! I really need to try yogurt in oatmeal. Maybe when I get me some soy yogurt (and my grocery store starts carrying my plain yogurt again).

  2. I love overnight oats cold! I love them warm too, so I guess I’ll take my oats however they come 🙂

    And I’m actually afraid to cook a lot of foods. I’m a bit intimidated by long ingredient lists . Oh, and pancakes. This one is silly, but I’m not a fan of the whole flipping idea.

  3. I am always a little afraid to try to cook ahi tuna seared. It tastes so good when I order out, but unsure of how it would turn out if I tried it at home. Your overnight oats look yummy, I make them all the time and love them 🙂

  4. I love love iced coffee!! Have you tried freezing your coffee in an ice cube tray? that way you can use coffee cubes to keep it cold and it won’t water it down 🙂 You can do this with almond milk too.

    I used to be scared to cook salmon too but I LOVE it now! the simplest way I found is to steam it on a steam tray – like you do vegetables. You just need a light spritz of olive oil and then you steam your filet 5-12 minutes depending on its size/thickness.. just keep checking it with a fork to tell when it’s flakey/done and the good thing about steaming is there’s zero fat and there’s almost no possible way for you to burn the fish! The only gross thing is touching the raw filet before it cooks ::yuck:: I always chat with the fish guys behind the counter at my local Whole Foods and Market Street – they’re always really nice and will tell you cool cooking ideas to try 🙂

    Okay and I’ve been seeing this jelly and cheese on a bagel thing everywhere now… may have to test this out…

    • This was SO helpful!!! Thank you! The coffee ice cubes are GENIUS. I found that’s the best way too cook salmon as well, I still like other people making it for me better 😉 haha this was my first time trying it. It was good

Leave a Reply

