Chocolate Chip Cookies and an Early Morning

Wow, today has already gone by super fast!

So much to say and do, so little time.

Let me start off with the weekend. If you’ve read my recent blog posts, I had a little weekend getaway to Sarasota, Florida.

It’s only about 3.5 hours away from where I live now so it wasn’t a bad drive at all!

Even though I had to drop my dog off at my dad’s about an hour away though so he could watch Bentley for the weekend, it still didn’t seem like too far of a drive.

We had a great weekend. We were celebrating my mom’s, err, 30th birthday? Winking smile

DSC01050

It was windy, I don’t intentionally wear my hair like that!

It was nice to explore a new city and just relax and do exactly what we wanted with luxury!

We went to the pool, Ringling Museum, Siesta Key Beach (#1 in America), and had great dinners and just a general good time.

Check out pictures and more on my weekend HERE. I don’t want to bombard you guys with too many pictures, so that post pretty much sums it up!

I will do a WIAW post about my eats from the weekend so if you’re interested, stay tuned till then!

Birthday

My mom’s birthday was yesterday, which unfortunately we spent most of the day in the car driving.

By the time we got home we were so tired all we ended up doing was grocery shopping and relaxing.

Fajitas were requested by the birthday girl so that’s what she got!

These are seriously super easy to make and healthy too.

We grilled up some chicken breast and cut it into strips.

Then we sautéed peppers and onions in a pan with the chicken.

DSC01051 

You then take whole wheat tortillas and put this chicken-pepper-onion mix inside and roll up. That’s it.

We also boiled some corn along with it, which was delicious.

DSC01055

DSC01053

Throw in some chips and salsa, and maybe some margaritas if you’d like and you’ve got yourself a homemade healthy Mexican feast!

Chocolate Chip cookies were also requested by the birthday girl and since I love to bake I was more than happy to whip up a batch of some.

I found a recipe on taste spotting, which were not healthified at all.

But you know what? Sometimes you need the real thing in all it’s glory!

Let me tell you, they were awesome.

DSC01056

DSC01057

DSC01058

DSC01059

Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookies.

Workout

This morning I got up at the crazy time of 5:30 am. I am used to getting up around 7 am but this is a new level for me.

Honestly, it’s not all that bad. I actually kind of like it!

I went over to the gym and completed this workout.

  • 10 min warm-up on the bike
  • A total body weight workout by Lindsay but I did switch it up just a bit. I generally followed it though.
  • 20 min interval run by Julie. I switch this up a bit also but generally followed it.

It felt AMAZING to be done with my workout before 7:15 in the morning!

I came home and got ready for school.

DSC01066

DSC01069

Pb puffins, Quaker Oatmeal Squares, Blueberries, Chia Seeds, Almond Milk.

I wanted something quick, cereal always does the trick.

Now I have TONS to do such as homework, studying, laundry, and more.

I hope everyone had a great weekend and is ready for the upcoming week Smile

 

What was the highlight of your weekend?

Are you a morning or night person when it comes to working out?

10 responses

  1. Hey Brittany, I titally love your philosophy and your blog! Exploring the city sounds like fun! Oooh your mamma has good taste in food, totally agree, fajitas are delish and they sort of feel like junky food but they are totally healthy 🙂 As for working out, I’m a morning girl, I like the afternoon too, at aroud 5-6ish but any later and I’m too pooped! Can’t wait to be reading more posts!!!

  2. Food looks amazing – specially that Chocolate Chip Cookie 😉
    I love that photo of you and your Mom! You both look so cute!
    Oh, and by the way – Happy Birthday to her!
    Hope you’re having a great day 🙂
    xoxoxoxo

  3. Hey I just found your blog 🙂 not sure how.. just clicking around! I love the title!! It sounds like your weekend getaway with your mom was fun! And the meal sounds fabulous too… especially that corn on the cob! i love that stuff!
    I am totally a morning person when it comes to working out. The sooner I get it done, the better the rest of my day will be!

Leave a Reply

