I Will Survive!

I survived my first day at a new college!

DSC00829

I have been super busy so that’s why I am just now getting around to posting!

I’m sure this creepy face is not the first thing you wanted to see, but I put it anyway.

Last year, I was attending the University of Central Florida.

ucf

I had a great time the first summer I moved up, but for some reason it wasn’t the same during fall and spring.

I loved living on my own and being away at a college but it was expensive for me even with financial aid and I felt as if I could be getting my pre requisites at another college for much cheaper.

Bottom line, I didn’t think it was worth being away at the time.

So I made a huge decision to move home for a year and attend Florida Atlantic University.

FAU-logo

Was I excited? Yes. Was I nervous? Very. Do I regret moving home? Maybe, probably.

At the time I made the decision to move home, it was absolutely the best decision for me.

Now that I look back and really think if I did the right thing, I’m not so sure. I am super sad that I’m not there with friends I was supposed to be living with, but at the same time knowing I’m saving so much money makes me feel better.

I do think it will be fine and I will get to experience a totally new environment, people, and school. I also am not sure what I want to do with the rest of my life but I know I will transfer again next year to another university.

I will take the time I am living home this year to figure out what the heck I want to major in FOR SURE and where I want to go in life. Pretty much I will make the best of the situation and really spend time to get awesome grades and raise my GPA so I can go to a better school next year.

I can always transfer back to UCF next semester if I can’t stand it here, but right now this is where I am and I’ll take it one day at a time.

Yesterday

Lets back track really quick! Since I didn’t have time to blog last night I’ll do a quick recap of what I did on my last day of summer.

My mom had plans to go to Rapids Water Park with a group from her church. She literally begged me to go and since her birthday is next weekend, I couldn’t say no!

RapidsWaterPark

I forgot to snap pictures the whole time! It was definitely more fun when I was younger, but we still had a great time! I haven’t been there since I was like 10 so it was fun to ride the rides still.

I was exhausted when we got home but we made dinner and just relaxed.

I got stuff ready for school and actually found out my class was a half hour earlier than I originally thought! I’m so glad I rechecked my schedule!

My brother came in to town from college at about midnight, and I was so glad to see him! He’s staying only till tomorrow until he heads further south to see some friends and my dad. I love him!

253125_1890804745237_1095030343_32059698_6084935_n

Workout

This morning I wanted to give myself enough time to get to the gym, and have time to get ready without being rushed. I can’t stand when I feel rushed, I get stressed out!

I have a problem. Every time my alarm goes off, I tend to hit snooze about 79 times, while still asleep, before I actually get up out of bed. That was the case this morning. Not a big surprise!

After having my daily dose of caffeine, I geared up and went over to the gym in my apartment complex instead of LA Fitness. I figured it’s usually empty and closer so it would be great for a workout sesh before school.

Low and behold, I arrived to have no one else in there! This gym is super convenient when I want to get a good workout in without driving all the way to the gym.

DSC00790

Treadmills, Elliptical

DSC00791

Machines

DSC00792

Free weights, Benches

DSC00793

Bikes, Elliptical

Not too shabby for a mini gym, huh?

I completed a workout similar to this one where I switched from cardio to weights and back a couple of times.

I warmed up with 2 miles on the treadmill and ended up doing an interval series. It wasn’t a crazy interval but it was good for a warm up, it definitely still got my heart pumpin’!

It looked like this:

Distance

Speed

Incline

.20

6.0

1.5

.10

6.7

1.5

.10

6.0

1.5

.10

6.7

1.5

Continue this until you reach 2 miles! Feel free to alter it to match your needs.

After this I completed this strength series:

  • Dual Axis Pull Down –

Primary: Latissimus Dorsi, Secondary: Biceps, Lower Trapezius

3 sets, 15 reps, 30 lbs

  • lats
  • Dual Axis Chest Press –

Primary: Pectorals, Anterior Deltoids, Secondary: Triceps, Biceps

3 set, 15 reps, 30 lbs..

pects

  • Deadlifts

3 sets, 15 reps, 40 lbs. (20 lbs. each hand)

  • Shoulders

 12 reps each shoulder

  • Single Dead Lifts

12 reps, 20 lb. each side

  • Shoulders

12 reps, 5 lbs. each hand

Then I completed a mile on the treadmill incorporating hills.

Minutes Speed Incline
0-2 6.0 1.0
2-4 6.0 2.5
4-6 6.0 4.0
6-8 6.0 5.5
8-9 6.0 7.0
9-10 6.0 1.0
Last set of strength:
 

Biceps – 1. Front & side: 12 reps, 10 lb. each set 2. All the way up, half way down 12 reps 3. All the way down, half way up 12 reps

Squats – 15 reps, 1 set, 40 lbs..

Lunges – 20 reps, 1 set each leg, 20 lbs. (20 pulses, 10 hold)

Upright Row – 15 reps, 2 sets, 10 lbs. each hand

Inner/Outer Thigh – 20 swings, 10 pulses

DSC00798

DSC00799

Triceps – 1. 20 reps, 20 pulse, 10 lbs. 2. 10 reps, 10 pulse, 10 lbs..

Finally I finished up with 1 more mile of jogging to round out my workout.

Whew, that was tiring just to type!

It was an awesome workout and I love breaking up the cardio and strength, it really makes time fly.

I usually find myself in the gym the longest when I do this type of workout and it doesn’t even feel like it, at all!

Breakfast

By the time I got home I was starving.

I hopped in the shower and popped a cinnamon raisin smart bagel into the toaster for a quickie.

DSC00808

Love these things. I topped one half with my homemade Cinnamon Raisin Peanut Butter and the other half with cherry preserves and some blueberries. I also had an apple to finish off my meal.

DSC00809

Super quick, but still deelish!

I then got ready to school and I was off!

DSC00821

DSC00824

Yup, I’m a total nerd and took first day of school pics. Don’t hate.

I can’t believe how fast this day went already, sheesh.

Now I’m about to make dinner and spend some time with the family before my brother leaves again.

Do you like the first day of school?

Do you like crowded gyms or less crowded?

12 responses

  1. Pingback: Way too Indecisive | GOtheXtraMile

  2. Pingback: They See Me Rollin’ | GOtheXtraMile

  3. First of all, I love your outfit for the first day of school! I start Monday and I still don’t know what I am going to wear!
    Secondly, what a tough workout!! Looks intense, just how I like my workouts 😛
    I like gyms where theres no one in them, which is why I work out at home in the morning when nobody is awake yet. I don’t like to be bugged or have to wait to use something. 🙂

  4. Great blog!
    I love the first day of school; I’m a teacher- I better!
    I love smaller gyms, but with good equipment. I actually prefer a hotel chain over another in our town because of their fitness center. It’s smaller, but the treadmills are fantastic and you don’t have to worry about other people watching your face turn from cream to strawberry.

Leave a Reply

