Makin’ Moves

Happy Monday everyone! Open-mouthed smile

I love waking up early on Monday mornings and getting my workout done. There’s something about working out the day after a rest day because I’m super excited to get back into it after a full day off!

I woke up around 7 am and headed over to the gym after having a cup of coffee. (I’m a coffeeholic). No shame.

I planned on taking a full body works class but wanted to run beforehand so I hopped onto the treadmill. Sometimes I like to go into a treadmill workout with one on hand, but sometimes I like going with what my body feels like doing and it turns out to be a great one! My run looked a little something like this:

Minutes

Speed

Incline

0-5

4

1.5

5-7

6

1.5

7-8

7.5

1.5

8-9

6

1.5

9-10

6

2.5

10-10:20

7.5

2.5

10:20-11:20

6

2.5

11:20-11:40

8

2.5

11:40-12:40

5.8

2.5

12:40-13

8

2.5

13-14

5.8

2.5

14-14:30

8

2.5

14:30-15

5.8

2.5

15-16

6.0

1.0

16-18

6.5

1.0

18-19

7.5

1.0

19-21

6.0

1.0

21-23

6.5

1.0

23-24

7.5

1.0

24-26

6.0

1.0

26-28

6.5

1.5

28-32

6.0

1.5

32-37:30

4.0

8

I covered about 3.60 miles before heading into my full body works class.

When I came home all I wanted was hot oats. I have been having cold overnight oats a lot over the summer so I guess I wanted a little change!

IMG_2343

  • 1/2 cup Rolled Oats
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/4 cup apple juice
  • 1/4 cup water
  • Half of 1/4 cup water poured in towards end
  • 1 T chia seeds
  • Dash vanilla/pinch brown sugar towards end
  • Sprinkle Cinnamon towards end
  • 1/2 T natural peanut butter
  • 1/2 T natural almond butter

Spreading out the nut butter made you get a little bit in each bite! It hit the spot. This was made on the stovetop on Medium heat. Adding the extra water towards the end loosens it up a bit and makes it creamier and adding the others toward the end gives it the right amount of flavor it needs.

Then walked into my room and saw this.

DSC00627

All cuddled up in my bag full of clothes. He kills me.

He HATES when I takes pictures of him so that’s why he’s usually sleeping or laying down when I take pictures. Otherwise he turns his head the second I take the picture. Sassy.

I also have a recipe to share!

Last night I was in charge of making a salad to have with our meal. I found this recipe from the Publix Apron’s Simple Meals.

I haven’t tried one of their recipes I haven’t liked and I think I will try a new one each week! I have also been trying a new vegetable each week and incorporate it into some sort of a dish.

This weeks vegetable was fennel. I have never had it before and it actually tastes like black liquorice. Honestly, I am not a fan of black liquorice whatsoever and the fennel taste was pretty strong however in the salad it tasted good, so give it a chance!

This recipe is taken directly from the Publix Apron’s Meals.

Ingredients

Zest and juice of 3 large oranges (I only used one for 2 people)

1 fennel bulb, thinly sliced (I used it all but it was way more than needed for 2 people)

3 tablespoons berry vinaigrette

1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

4 cups spring mix salad blend (I used just enough for 2 people)

3 tablespoons slivered almonds (I used whole cause it’s what we had on hand)

Just a reminder: I used less than what the recipe called for because I didn’t need all that salad! However, I’m providing the entire recipe.

Prep

  • Zest/grate orange peel (no white; 1 teaspoon)
  • DSC00609
  • Peel oranges and cut into segments; squeeze membranes of orange for juice (1/2 cup).
  • Cut fennel in half lengthwise; slice fennel, white part only (2 cups) Discard green part.

DSC00608

DSC00604

 

Steps

  1. Combine all ingredients (except spring mix and almonds) in salad bowl.
  2. Add spring mix and toss to coat evenly; top with almond and serve.

DSC00615

This is the berry vinaigrette they recommend to use, it was really good!

DSC00612

It was a very citrus-y salad and the pomegranate with the orange/orange zest combined with the fennel was a good combo. Perfect for summer!

Along with the salad we had Scallops with creamy bacon corn sauce. I’m not a huge bacon girl, I actually don’t like it that much (I used to be a vegetarian so I still think I have the mindset in me in some ways) but all mixed in it was a good combination.

DSC00614

Ingredients

3 ears fresh corn, husks and silks removed

1 tablespoon canola oil

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

3/4 lb. sea scallops, thawed

4 slices bacon coarsely chopped (I’m sure you could use vegan bacon as well)

8 oz. tomato trinity mix (fresh diced tomatoes, onions, bell peppers)

1 tablespoon blackening seasoning

1/2 cup half-and-half

1 tablespoon chives, coarsely chopped (optional)

Now again, we only used enough for two people so we used less than what was called.

Prep

  • Remove corn husks and silks; slice kernels off cobs (2-3 cups) into medium bowl. Scrape cobs with back of knife to release remaining juices.

DSC00607

Steps

1. Preheat large sauté pan on medium-high 2-3 minutes. Season scallops with salt and pepper. Place oil in pan, then add scallops; cook 1-2 minutes on each side or until golden, opaque, and firm. Remove pan from heat; transfer scallops to plate and cover to keep warm. 

DSC00605

2. Cut bacon into small pieces while adding to same pan; cook 3-4 minutes or until crisp. Drain bacon fat (ew, that creeps me out), reserving a little in pan. Stir in trinity mix; cook 2-3 minutes or until soft. Combine blackening seasoning, half-and-half, and corn; add to pan.

DSC00610

DSC00613

3. Reduce heat to medium-low; cook 3-4 more minutes, stirring frequently to prevent sticking. Transfer corn mixture to serving dish; top with scallops (and chives). Serve.

DSC00617

YUM! Reminded me of a perfect summer meal. Corn + citrus salad + seafood screams summer to me. Although its almost over, I’m excited for fall Smile

 

Have you tried any new recipes that you loved?

Do you like seafood?

Are you sad or excited for summer to be over?

8 responses

  1. Girl, thanks so much for stopping by my blog. You are so GORGEOUS. I read your story and your about me page and think we are going to be great blog friends! I am so glad you started one!

    I don’t really eat seafood. I have never really liked the taste but I think I am going to try some white fish soon…as soon as I get the courage! I remember trying it once a while back and it didn’t taste too fishy. It would be a great source of protein for me since I don’t eat chicken or red meat!

    I am so sad summer is almost over! We need to embrace the lsat couple of weeks of beautiful sunshine!! You probably get a lot more sunshine all year round anyway so you don’t have much to complain about 🙂

    • Of course, I love reading your blog!! Thank you so much I appreciate it, we can definitely be blog friends! 😀

      I know a bunch of people that don’t like fish that’s too fishy! You should try tilapia with the right seasonings like italian and garlic.

  2. Great to meet you! I found you through your follow on twitter!!! LOVE the blog! I have to say, for just starting out blogging, you are rocking girl!

    I heart scallops! So good!!!

    Have a great day!!

Leave a Reply

