It’s About Time

DSC01263

Oh yeah Winking smile The last time I went to the store, I knew I had to get this. Weird thing is I usually see pumpkin at my store all year long. I don’t buy it all that often in the summer so since I’m pretending it’s fall already, I had to buy it.

DSC01267

Yes, it is still 200 degrees Fahrenheit here in Florida with a 99.9% humidity. I still am way too excited for fall to wait till it cools off because honestly that could take forever.

What did I do with that pumpkin you may ask?

DSC01291

DSC01293

Obviously I went there. But these weren’t any old pumpkin oats. I added something a little extra. Check out these oats on Tina’s blog.

Yes, I added coffee. You guys may have noticed my coffee addiction on the blog, and well I just knew this would be an opportunity to get an extra fix.

Let me tell you. These. Were. Amazing.

It was kind of like a pumpkin coffee latte in oat form Winking smile

Please try and convince me that you don’t want to try this. I know you do.

All you do is make your oats regular on the stovetop I used :

  • 1/2 C Rolled Oats
  • 1/4 C Water
  • 1/4 C Unsweetened Almond Milk
  • 1/2 thinly sliced banana
  • Generous dash of cinnamon
  • Dash of ginger
  • Pinch of nutmeg

Bring it to a boil and let it soak some of the liquid. Reduce heat so it’s not going crazy then towards the end when you get it to your desired consistency add :

  • about 1/3 C pumpkin (or however much you want)
  • 2 T coffee
  • I added vanilla liquid stevia
  • a tiny bit more cinnamon
  • a bit more milk

Oh yeah, I FINALLY got stevia too Open-mouthed smile

DSC01295

In love. I’ve waited too long for this.

I took the oats off the heat and let it sit for a couple minutes to get it a little bit thicker.

Then I topped with a few dried blueberries, and a spoonful of almond butter.

DSC01294

Heaven. Props to Tina for the coffee idea!

 

Workout

Although it’s my day off from school, I decided to wake up early so I could take a full body works class at my gym. Since school has started, I’ve had to workout later in the day more often than usual, and I haven’t been able to take as much fitness classes.

I love lifting my own weights and challenging myself, but I do like to take classes because they truly are fun and give me a break and keep myself from getting bored.

I completed 10 minutes of interval training on the treadmill with 5 minutes of incline walking for a cool down. I also did about 20 minutes on the elliptical before the class started. The instructor that teaches the class is AWESOME. It makes ALL the difference! She switches exercises letting us know when we should use our light weights and heavy weights and always does different things each time in the class.

I love when instructors switch up the routine because it really challenges me and teaches me something new. She did many things that I have never done before or seen before and I love that I learn something that I can do on my own as well!

When I was in the class, I realized that I can really see definition in my arms. When I first started to go to the gym back in my freshman year of high school, I took a weights class every Tuesday and Thursday with the same instructor.

It was a GREAT class don’t get me wrong, but it was a lot of reps and I was only using 5lbs for my heavy weights and 3lbs for my light. It was a great way to start off, but I NEVER tried anything new. I went to that class like clockwork and eventually even knew the routine by heart.

I could have probably taught the class myself. I loved the routine and I always felt great afterward, but I wasn’t seeing much results. Sure, I was seeing some and definitely kept my figure in tact, but I never really saw definition.

Now a days, I lift heavy weights. When I’m in a class I used at least 10lbs for my heavy and usually 7.5lbs for my lights. Sometimes I use only 5lbs which is fine but ever since I really started to lift weights, that’s when I saw results.

My friends actually used to call me noodle arms back in high school. While I’m a tall girl and have very long arms, I also have long muscles so it’s hard to see my strength. Ever since I started to lift heavy weights, I can see more muscles than I thought I even had.

skinny arms

Me back in high school, noodle arms and all.

My back muscles are much more defined and my shoulder’s definitely are. Even my biceps have gotten more defined. I will NEVER have bulky arms, and lifting heavy weights will never give me bulky arms! Many women have a misconception about heavy weights, but I promise you will just get super toned and never big.

I still have skinnier arms than maybe most people, but I know I am STRONG. I can see my muscles and I know I can use them to lift heavy too.

Don’t be afraid of heavy weights. I can’t stress this enough! I have learned that they are super beneficial and though this is what works for ME only, it may work for one of you too! You never know until you try. Just be patient. Soon enough your “heavy” weights will feel light and that is a great feeling, a great sense of accomplishment. I love that feeling.

DSC01302

DSC01304

It’s a little hard to see because of the lighting, but you get the idea!

I’ve also seen a change in my abs. I have always had a flat stomach. Always. However, I never saw any definition in them. No matter what I did I couldn’t get them to looked “toned” they were always just flat. I never had a problem with that I just wanted to see if I could accomplish getting my stomach toned too.

DSC01310

More cardio and lifting heavier weights has really helped my abs in the long run. I don’t focus on doing so much ab work such as crunches and stuff like that, but I focus more on my core and contracting my abs while running and strength training. That alone gives me a great ab workout. Plus things like planks and push-ups are much better than doing 30 minutes of crunches every day.

The lighting is still awful, but I’m finally starting to see those “v-lines” and more muscles in my upper abs. I also have no problem sharing these pictures, I am all about openness and honesty around here Smile

Do you lift heavy weights?

What is something that you accomplished and are proud of?

Have you tried stevia?

8 responses

  1. you look amazzzing. :) i am trying to get into weight training and incorporate it regularly into my routine. like you, ive always had thin arms but i want some definition! how did you begin? sometimes i feel like i dont even know what to do to start

Leave a Reply

